Get to Know Lackawanna College Softball Commit, Tori May

Photo courtesy of Kimberly Booher Photography

Name: Tori May

Hometown: New Castle, Pennsylvania

School: Union Area High School

Sport: Softball for the Union Area Scotties

Commitment: Junior College softball for the Lackawanna College Falcons. The Falcons compete in the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) in Region 19. Lackawanna College is located in Scranton, Pennsylvania and is home to around 2,000 students.

Why She Chose Lackawanna College: “The campus just fit me. Not many of the other colleges I visited looked or felt like Lackawanna. The atmosphere was great and the campus felt like its own town.”

Accolades: Four-time section champion, Back-to-back WPIAL championships, and a PIAA state runner-up finish in 2023

Club Program: Buckeye Charge

Favorite Softball Memories: “Beating West Green was probably my favorite memory for softball. Our program I believe had lost to them about five times in a row before. We finally beat them in the WPIAL championship my sophomore year. My other top one would be from the state semifinals last year. The bases were loaded with two outs and a full count. I bunted to the pitcher and we ended up scoring two runs off that and won the game to advance to the state championship.”

Additional High School Involvement: Played bocce ball with the Special Olympics and advanced to the playoffs.

Major and Future Plans: Criminal Justice associate degree with the hope of completing a four-year degree in the future. After her time at Lackawanna College, she also is hopeful to earn a collegiate scholarship at the NCAA Division I or NCAA Division II level. Her ultimate career aspiration is to become a Pennsylvania State Police officer.

A Thank You to Her Support System: My parents (Jennifer Forkey and Torrance May) have really helped me through the recruiting process and have always been at every game. Kristi and Ron Williams helped me get prepared to join on my first travel team and continued with helping me as I continued my career, Joe Nardone was also someone I credit for getting me into the travel ball world and taking a chance to bring me onto the first travel team I was a part of.

My high school coach, Doug Fisher, always tried to make me a better player and person. He always tells and shows me how to fix something and ways to improve. I’m glad to have had this chance to play with him these last four years. I never had a coach believe in me like he has.

I also want to give a mention of my batting coach, Billy McCartney. Billy has helped me improve as a hitter and also through the recruiting process. The late Sam Eakman also taught me a lot of things like how to be a better individual and teammate. He really believed in me since I first joined his team, I knows he’s proud and looking down on me.”

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close